Migne’s Stars Dim in Swazi Capitulation

Harambee Stars poor run in form continued on Friday after they were silenced  fell 0-1 by Swaziland in a FIFA International friendly match played at a near empty Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos..


The match, whose build up was marred by a dispute between the Football Federation of Kenya (FKF) and the Kenyan Premier League (KPL) on whether called-up players from rivals AFC Leopards and Gor Mahia would turn up for national team duties or honor their derby clash, witnessed the sole goal 10 minutes to the final whistle.

Substitute Wonder Nhleko made the difference in the 78th minute, capitalizing unmarked inside the box to give the COSAFA side victory.

Kenya, who used the match as part of their preparation for their upcoming Africa Nations Cup qualifier clash against Ghana, created a number of good chances which including hitting the post twice.

In his first match since replacing Stanley Okumbi, Migne handed a score of players their national team debut including Gor Mahia duo Joash Onyango and Philemon Otieno, as well as AFC Leopards’ Michael Kibwage.

Fullback Eric Ouma was also handled a starting role on the opposite side of the defence, with Captain of the day Jockins Atudo playing at right back.

Migné will now shift focus to Monday’s friendly where the local boys will take on Equatorial Guinea at the same venue.

Harambee Stars Starting XI

  1. Boniface Oluoch (GK), 2. Jockins Atudo (C), 4. Mike Kibwage, 3. Eric Ouma, 5. Joash Onyango, 17. Duncan Otieno, 8. Patillah Omotto, 6. Philemon Otieno, 10. Francis Kahata, 11. Whyvonne Isuza, 20. Ovella Ochieng


  1. Patrick Matasi (GK), 22. Timothy Odhiambo (GK), 14. Humphrey Mieno, 21. Marvin Omondi, 19. Chrispin Oduor, 23. Jafari Owiti, 9. Pistone Mutamba, 15. Musa Mohammed, 24. Vincent Wasambo, 12. Harun Shakava, 13. Timothy Otieno, 16. Bolton Omwenga

Swaziland Starting XI

  1. Sandanezwe Mathabela, 19. Lindo Mkhonta, 2. Wandile Maseko, 14.Banele Dlamini, 5. Siboniso Ngwenya, 21. Mandla Palma, 11. Xolani Sibandze, 15. Njabulo Ndlovu, 13. Barry Steenkamp, 7. Felix Bendenhorst, 17. Tony Tsabedze


  1. Nhlanhla Gwebu, 18. Phumani Dlamini, 15. Sihlangu Mkhwanazi, 10. Zweli Nxumalo, 20. Wonder Nhleko, 12. Sifiso Mazibuko, 8. Bonginkosi Dlamini, 4. Phiwayinkosi Dlamini, 9. Musa Dlamini



Leave a Reply