Afcon: Kenya Land Senegal, Tanzania


Kenya will make a return to the Africa Cup of Nations after a fifteen year absence with group matches against Senegal, Algeria and neighbours Tanzania.

The four were pooled together in Group C following the draw for the 2019 showpiece set for Egypt from June 21 to July 19.

The Harambee Stars will kick off their campaign against Riyad Mahrez’s Algeria at the 30 June Stadium in Cairo on June 23.

They then battle neighbours Tanzania four days later at the same venue with the Taifa Stars making their first appearance in 39 years. Sebastian Migne’s team will complete their group stage involvements against one of the pre-tournament favourites, Senegal, on July 1 with former Southampton teammates Sadio Mane and Victor Wanyama leading their teams out.

This is the third time that Kenya have drawn Senegal at the group stages following similar occurrences in 1990 and 2004. The Teranga Lions won the recent encounter 3-0 in 2004 with the 1990 clash ending barren.

Meanwhile in other groups, hosts Egypt will kick off the tournament’s first game against
Zimbabwe. The Pharaohs were drawn in Group A alongside the Leopards of the DRC, Uganda Cranes and the Zimbabwe Warriors.

Debutants Burundi and Madagascar are in Group B alongside Nigerian Super Eagles and the National Sily of Guinea.

Holders Cameroon are in Group F alongside Ghana, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

The Groups in Full

Group A: Egypt, Uganda, DR Congo, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau


Leave a Reply