Agwanda Scores again as Gor Mahia Beat Ushuru

Despite not playing to their usual high standards, Gor Mahia still eased past Ushuru 2-0 in their midweek clash to stretch their unbeaten run in the league to 20 games.

A goal either side of half time from young winger Innocent Wafula and substitute Enock Agwanda proved enough for the defending champions whose win takes them 11 points above Ulinzi Stars and with two games in hand.

As has been their modus operandi this season, Frank Nuttall’s side took an early lead with Wafula tapping home a Michael Olunga header to put his side 1-0 ahead with just five minutes on the clock.

Ushuru created a few half-chances thereafter with skipper Rodgers Ochieng’s crosses into the box troubling the Kogalo defence, but not so much to concede an equalizer.

Wafula almost returned favor to Olunga in the 41st minute but the lanky forward’s effort drew a smart save from Ushuru keeper  Samuel Odhiambo as the half ended 1-0 in favor of the pre-match favorites.

Olunga had a chance to double his side’s lead immediately after the restart but his half volley forced another fine save from keeper Odhiambo who seemed determined to deny the golden boot hunting forward his 14th goal of the season.

On the other end, David Naftali came close to opening his Ushuru account this season but overcooked his shot which flew just inches over Boniface Oluoch’s goal. A substitution from both ends saw Ken Kenyatta haul off Mohammed Hassan for Charles Okwemba, while Frank Nuttall responded by introducing Enock Agwanda for Godfrey Walusimbi and Ernest Wendo for Collins ‘Gattuso’ Okoth just after the hour mark.

Nuttall’s substitution begot magic as Agwanda netted his third goal in Gor Mahia colours, the bully forward slotting a penalty he won himself after being fouled by keeper Odhiambo. At 2-0, the three points were easily delivered home.

Kogalo are now on 52 points from a possible 60 and are ever closer to their third straight league title, while Ushuru remain 10th on the log on 28 points.

Gor Mahia XI: 23. Bonface Oluoch. 5. Musa Mohamed. 14. Karim Nizigiyimana. 3. Abouba Sibomana. 29. Innocent Wafula. 6. Collins Okoth. 18. Harun Shakava. 22. Meddie Kagere. 2. Godfrey Walusimbi. 19. Michael Olunga. 10. Khalid Aucho. Reserves: 1. Jerim Onyango. 30. Ali Abondo 15. Bernard Odhiambo. 9. Timothy Otieno. 17. Eric Ochieng. 20. Ernest Wendo. 24. Enock Agwanda

Ushuru XI: 22 Samuel Odhiambo (Gk), 2 Richard Mmboyi, 3 Rodgers Ochieng’, 26 David Otieno, 27 Kapilima Kanamuli, 24 David Naftali, 7 Barrack Odhiambo, 19 Evans Kiwanuka, 29 Moses Arita, 6 Obadiah Ndege, 16 Muhammad Hassan

Substitutes: 1. Kimera Ali, 13 Collins Omondi, 20 Joseph Shikokoti, 9 Roosevelt Blaty, 10 Charles Okwemba, 18 Nelson Simwa, 8. Philemon Otieno, 17. Allan Katerega, 5. Edwin Misiko

Follow us on Twitter: @Four4TwoMedia


Leave a Reply