Bandari Release CAF Confed Traveling Party

Kenya’s representatives in the 2016 CAF Confederation Cup, Bandari FC, have released the squad that will travel to Congo for the first leg of their preliminary tie.

The Dockers, who last weekend won the DSTV Super Cup clash against Gor Mahia, unveiled their 18-man squad that includes six off-season signings.

Wilson Obungu, their man-of-the-match in the Super Cup triumph, is a shoe-on to start in goal with the likes of Felly Mulumba, Duncan Otewa and Sharrif Mohammed manning the defence.

Musa Mudde, Bernard Mang’oli, Antony Kimani and David Kingatua will contest for midfield positions with Dan Serenkuma, George Abege, Meshack Karani and Edwin Lavatsa the forwards.

The team will leave for Congo on Friday (Feb. 12) morning ahead of Sunday’s clash against St Eloi Lupopo.


Head coach, Twahir Muhiddin said: “The match is an opportunity for the team to continue to grow and a chance for our new players to lay down a marker and demonstrate their international capabilities.”

This will be Bandari’s first appearance in a continental competition while their opponents, Lupopo have participated in the Confederations Cup on four previous occasions; 2005 (2nd round), 2006 (group stage), 2011 (first round of 16) and 2012 (first round). 

Lupopo, six-time Congolese league champions, have also featured in the more senior CAF Champions League competition three times (2003, 2006 and 2007) but never went beyond the second round.

Full Squad: 

Goalkeepers: Wilson Obungu, Joseph Okoth

Defenders: Duncan Otewa, Shariff Mohamed, Felly Mulumba, David Gateri, Humphrey Okoti, Edwin Wafula

Midfielders: Mussa Mudde, Anthony Kimani, Benard Mang’oli, David Kingatua, Hamisi Tole

Forwards: Dan Sserunkuma, George Abege, Meshack Karani, Edwin Lavatsa, Shaban Kenga  

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia 



Leave a Reply