CAF Expands Women’s Cup of Nations


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the expansion of the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) from 8 to 12 teams, effective from the 2020 edition.

The biennial tournament has been contested by 8 teams since inception but CAF has added four more teams following an Executive meeting in Egypt, the hosting nation of the ongoing Africa Cup of Nations.

Embattled CAF President Ahmad Ahmad made the announcement on his Twitter handle saying: “With @CAF_Online’s #exco, we took a great decision today: feminine’s #AFCON will now engage 12 teams! They only were 8 until now.”

The hosts for the 2020 competition will be announced later after Congo withdrew.

Holders Nigeria won the inaugural 8-team tournament in 1998 and have gone on to win the title a record nine times with Equatorial Guinea winning the other two.

Nigeria, alongside Cameroon, South Africa and Ghana are the only sides to have contested each of the editions since inception.

Kenya’s Harambee Starlets meanwhile will be hoping they will make a second appearance, having missed the 2018 edition. The Starlets made their tournament debut in 2016, crashing out in the group stages after losing all their matches.


Leave a Reply