Cecafa 2017: Kenya Draw Rwanda, Cranes Face Zim

The draw for the 2017 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup saw hosts Kenya drawn in Group A alongside four other teams including last edition’s losing finalists Rwanda.

Kenya, who last won the trophy as hosts in 2013, will also face invited side Libya and neighbours Tanzania and Zanzibar. Stanley Okumbi’s side were stunned 3-1 by Zanzibar in 2013 before they were bundled out in the quarterfinals by Rwanda who won a penalty shootout 5-3 following a barren stalemate in normal time.

Reigning and record champions Uganda headline Group B which also has Zimbabwe who will be making their fifth appearance as a guest team. The Cranes, who beat Rwanda 1-0 to win the 2015 title, will be going for their 15th crown in the competition’s history. The group also has South Sudan, four-time winners Ethiopia and Burundi.

Kenya will face Rwanda in the opening match set for December 3 at a venue yet to be decided, but likely to be one of Bukhungu Stadium in Kakamega, Moi Stadium Kisumu or Afraha Stadium in Nakuru.

The competition will kick off on December 3 with the finals slated for December 17.

Group A: Kenya, Libya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zanzibar

Group B: Uganda, Zimbabwe, Burundi, Ethiopia, South Sudan


Leave a Reply