Gor Mahia Handed 2018 KPL Trophy

By Steve Ayoo (@Steifmaster88)

Gor Mahia were presented with the 2018 Kenyan Premier League title, a record-extending 17th crown, at the Moi Stadium, Kisumu on Sunday (30) evening.

Captain Harun Shakava, flanked by his teammates, received the title from former Prime Minister Raila Odinga at a parked Kisumu Stadium.

It was not a perfect coronation though as they threw away a 2-0 lead to settle for a 2-2 draw against Mathare United who gave the champions a guard of honor before the 2pm kick-off.

Early goals either side of half time from Jacques Tuyisenge and Humphrey Mieno had given Gor the two-goal lead but the Slum Boys rallied back with Cliff Nyakeya converting the second of the two equalizers following a foul inside the box by Joash Onyango on Omulanga who had halved the deficit.

The result ended a run of five consecutive defeats in all competitions for Gor Mahia whose players have been staging a go slow in a bid to force the executive to pay their allowances.

Head coach Dylan Kerr, though elated, expressed his disappointment at not getting the win in front of the home fans.

They have two more games to wrap up the season, a home game against Zoo Kericho and a season finale clash against Tusker FC who they dethroned as champions two seasons ago.



Leave a Reply