Gyan Makes Cut after Retirement U-turn


Ghana’s all-time leading goalscorer Asamoah Gyan was among 29 players named in coach Kwesi Appiah’s provisional squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations set for Egypt in June.

The Kayserispor forward had announced his retirement from Black Stars duties following a captaincy row, only to reverse his decision 48 hours after a presidential intervention.

And head coach Appiah, who had handed over the armband to Andre Ayew with Gyan being given the ‘general captain’ role, was perhaps left with no choice but to call up the 33-year-old.

‘Baby Jet’, who has scored 51 goals in 106 internationals, has not donned the national team colors due to injury struggles dating back to September 2007. He has scored in 6 consecutive Afcon finals and in 3 World Cups.

“A presidential request is one that cannot be disregarded,” he said.

“I have taken the request in good faith, and will make myself available for selection by coach Kwasi Appiah.”

Appiah’s list of 29 has three locally based players and includes three goalkeepers, ten defenders, eleven midfielders and five forwards.

Ghana, four time African champions, are in Group F alongside defending champions Cameroon, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

The Black Stars will, on June 1, leave for a pre-tournament camp in Dubai, after which a list of 23 will be revealed ahead of the finals.


Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa, Lawrence Ati- Zigi (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)


John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England, Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey), Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Nuhu Musa (St Gallen, Switzerland), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey), and Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)


Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Ebenezer Ofori (New York FC, USA), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew ( Fenerbache, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Yaw Yeboah (Numancia, Spain), Abdul Fatawu (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)


Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Adbul Majeed Waris ( Nantes, France), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey) and Kwabena Owusu (Leganes, Spain).


Leave a Reply