Harambee Stars Leave for Uganda Friendly

National football team, Harambee Stars left for Ugandan capital, Kampala, Monday, (Aug 29) morning ahead of the team’s international friendly match against the Uganda Cranes.

Eight foreign-based players led by Captain Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspur) have arrived in the country ahead of the friendly scheduled to take place at 4pm on Tuesday, August 30, 2016 at the Mandela National Stadium.

Jesse Were (Zesco), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos), David Owino (Zesco), Gonzalez Ismael (Las Palmas), Antony Akumu (Zesco), Jonah Ayunga (Brighton & Hove Albion), and Lelan Joshua (Plymouth Argyle) are the other foreign based players who left the country, ready for the Tuesday assignment.

Brian Mandela (Maritzburg FC) arrived later on Sunday, while Ayub Timbe (Lierse) arrived Monday morning. Abud omar (Slavia Sofia) and Michael Olunga (IF Djugardens) will link up with the team in Uganda on Tuesday morning.

The match is in preparation for the team’s AFCON qualifier against Zambia set for September 4, 2016.

Stars are expected back in the country on Wednesday, August 31, 2016 ahead of their departure to Zambia on Friday, September 2, 2016.

Cecafa clash

Kenya and Uganda last met during the group stages of the 2015 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup in November with Stars winning 2-0, Jacob Keli and Michael Olunga scoring. The Cranes would however go on and win the title.

The team is accompanied by coach Stanley Okumbi and his two assistants Frank Ouna and Musa Otieno. Stars on a three-game unbeaten run having drawn 1-1 against Tanzania and Sudan in friendlies before stunning Congo 2-1 in a 2017 AFCON qualifier last June.

Cranes, who are on the brink of 2017 Afcon qualification, have however had the best of this East African derby, winning four of the last seven meetings, drawing two and losing the Cecafa match. They are expected to parade the likes of former Gor Mahia ace, Khalid Aucho who recently signed for South African Premier Soccer League side Baroka FC. They will take on Comoros in their final Group D Afcon qualifiers where victory will secure them progress to the 2017 showpiece.

Stars Traveling Squad to Uganda

Boniface Oluoch (GK), David Okello (GK), David Owino, Aboud Omar, Brian Mandela, Eric Ouma, Musa Mohammed, Lelan Joshua Kipkemboi, Ismael Gonzalez, Victor Majid, Victor Wanyama (C), Antony Akumu, Francis Kahata, Eric Johanna, Danson Kago, Ayub Timbe, John Makwata, Michael Olunga, Jesse Were

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply