JA Teline V - шаблон joomla Форекс
Wed, Sep

Pin It

Kenya, through the Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK), will this year host two major continental forums for sports journalists in Nairobi.
The country will host the Association of International Sports Journalists (AIPS) Africa congress and Africa Women in Sports Conference.
SJAK president Chris Mbaisi said the two events are in the association's calendar of events for 2017.
Mbaisi said the AIPS Africa Congress will be held in October after the women's conference mid this year.
The president appealed for funds from well wishers for the congress that will bring together over 40 countries and 100 journalists. He said the congress was pushed to October to pave way for Kenya's general elections scheduled for August 8.
The president was speaking in Eldoret during an anti doping training for sports journalists which is the first activity of SJAK's calendar of events this year.
Among other activities in the SJAK calendar of events include a photography seminar, golf training in preparation for coverage of the Kenya Open, Sports Act workshop, International Sports Journalists Day, among others.
Mbaisi said the association will continue organizing the Kenyan Premier League monthly footballer and coach of the month awards, adding that the association is considering increasing the Sh50,000 cash awarded to coach of the month which will be entering its second year of sponsorship by Fidelity Insurance.
Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia


Pin It

The Kenya Women's football team, Harambee Starlets, were feted for their history-making 2016 campaign after being named the women's team of the year at the Sports Personality of the Year (SOYA) awards gala Thursday (19) evening.

Starlets qualified for their maiden Africa Women's Cup of Nations tournament last year after beating Algeria in the last stage of qualifiers. They however did not get past the group stages, losing all their three matches.

The team also reached the final of the Cecafa Women's Tournament, losing to neighbors Tanzania in the final. They edged the Orange Hockey Team who delivered their fifth successive African title with the National Roll Ball team placing third.

Starlets forward Mwanahalima 'Dogo' Adam was named the Most Promising Girl with Kipyegon Bett winning the men's equivalent.

Meanwhile the Kenya Sevens rugby team won the men's title in a year when they delivered the Singapore Sevens title and also participated in the 2016 Rio Olympic games where they finished second from bottom.

Kenyan Premier League champions Tusker FC finished runners-up after winning the league and cup double while the Kenya 15s side, Simbas finished third.


2016 Sports Personality of the Year: Vivian Cheruiyot (Athletics)

1. Eliud Kipchoge (Athletics, Marathon),
2. Conseslus Kipruto (Athletics, 3,000m steeplechase),
3. Collins Injera (Kenya Sevens rugby)/David Rudisha (Athletics, 800m)

Sportswoman of the Year:

1. Vivian Cheruiyot (Athletics, 10,000m, 5,000m)

2. Faith Chepng’etich (Athletics, 1,500m)

3. Jemimah Sumgong (Athletics, Marathon)

Sportsman Living with a Disability:

1.. Samuel Muchai (Athletics, T11- 1,500m, 5,000m)

2. Henry Kirwa (T13-1,500m, 5,000m)

Sportsman Living with a Disability:

1. Nancy Koech (Athletics)

2. Nelly Sile (Athletics)

3. Irene Cherono (Athletics)

Most Promising Boy:

1. Kipyegon Bett (Athletics)

2.Ryan Randiek (tennis)

3. Joseph Okumu (football)

Most Promising Girl:

1. Mwanahalima Adam (football)

2. Kelly Gachaga (Golf)

3. Sneha Kotecha (Tennis)

Team of the Year –Men:

1. Kenya Sevens (Rugby)

2. Tusker FC (Football)

3. Kenya Simbas (Rugby)

Team of the Year – Women:

1. Harambee Starlets

2. Telkom Orange (Hckey)

3. National Roll Ball Team

Sports Federation of the Year:

1. Tennis Kenya

2. Football Kenya Federation


School Team of the Year-Boys:

1. Kamusinga (Hockey)

2. Kakamega (Rugby)

3. Upperhill (Basketball)

School Team of the Year-Girls:

1.Kaya Tiwi (Basketball)

2. Sinyolo Girls( Hockey)

3. AI Kosirai (volleyball)

School Player of the Year Girls: Haddasah Gichovi (Athletics)

School Player of the Year Boys: Allan Singar

School Coach of the Year: Philip Onyango

Coach of the Year: Jos Openda (Telkom Orange)

Hall of Fame:

Jackson Omaido (Rugby)

Naftali Temu (Athletics)

Community Hero:

Felix Oloo

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



More Articles...