JA Teline V - шаблон joomla Форекс
Wed, Sep

Pin It



Kenya Sevens won their second Challenge Trophy of the 2016-17 World Rugby Sevens season, beating Samoa 21-14 in the competition's final at the Las Vegas Sevens, USA.

Shujaa, third in their Group, qualified for the Trophy final after edging Chile 21-19 in the quarters and beating France 14-7 in the semis. 

In the final against Samoa who had overcame Scotland 24-0 in their Challenge Trophy semifinal, veteran Collins Injera and captain Andrew Amonde had Kenya leading 14-0 with Sammy Oliech converting both. However, the Pacific Islanders emerged from the break with a sprint and hit back quickly with their own two converted tries from Tila Mealoi.

However, Amonde' second try of the match, converted again by Oliech gave Kenya the victory and a second Challenge Trophy title after winning the same in Wellington.

The victory gave Kenya 8 points but they remain unmoved on the log, sitting 11th with 35 points, five behind France in 10th.

South Africa won title with a 19-12 defeat of Fiji to extend their lead at the top.

Cecil Afrika, Chris Dry and Rosko Specman touched down for the Blitzboks with Masivesi Dakuwaqa and Waisea Nacuqu's tries for Fiji proving mere consolations. Neil Powell's men, on 107 points with Fiji second on 83, have now won four of the five legs and are firm favourites to take the title from holders Fiji.

Hosts USA beat New Zealand 19-15 to finish third while England edged Australia 10-7 to finish fifth.

The next leg moves to Vancouver, Canada this coming weekend with the draw pitting Kenya against two of the top three teams in the standings.

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia





Pin It

Image result for homeboyz rfc 

The 2017 National Sevens Series, the 22nd edition of the 7s Rugby tournament, will kick off on July 22nd, the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) has announced.

Mombasa RFC will host the opening leg of the new season with the Driftwood Sevens taking place on July 22nd. The competition will then move to Nairobi with the Kabeberi Sevens, hosted by Mwamba RFC, happening a week later.

The 6-part series will then take a one month break due to the nation's general election set for August. The popular Prinsloo Sevens in Nakuru will mark the return of the series on September 2 with the fourth round taking place a week later at a venue yet to be confirmed with KRU inviting affiliating franchises to place their hosting bids. Nanyuki hosted the 2016 edition.

The penultimate leg will be the Christie Sevens in Nairobi with Kisumu's Dala Sevens closing out the season on September 30.

Homeboyz are the reigning champions having won three legs (Prinsloo, Nanyuki and Dala) and reached the final in all the legs last year, finishing on 123 points followed by Quins and Impala on 104 and 97 points respectively. The other teams to win a leg in 2016 were Impala (Kabeberi), Quins (Driftwood) and Kabras who beat Homeboyz 22-5 to win the season-closing Christie 7s.

2017 National Sevens Series Dates

Round 1: Driftwood Sevens, Mombasa  – 22nd/23rd July

Round 2: Kabeberi Sevens, Nairobi – 29th/30th July


Round 3: Prinsloo Sevens, Nakuru – 2nd/3rd September

Round 4: To be confirmed   - 9th/10th September

Round 5: Christie Sevens, Nairobi – 23rd/24rd September

Round 6: Dala Sevens, Kisumu – 30th September/ 1st October

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



More Articles...