Kenya Draw Egypt, Togo in Afcon 2021 Qualifiers


Kenya will face record African champions Egypt, Togo and the Comoros in the qualification rounds for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

The four teams will contest for the Group G honors for the 2021 spectacle which will be held in Cameroon.

Kenya and Egypt are the only sides from the group who participated at the ongoing Afcon 2019, the Harambee Stars exiting at the group stages while the Pharaoh were stunned in the round of 16 by South Africa.

The qualification matches will commence on October 7, 2019 with 8 teams participating in the preliminary rounds. The winners of the two-legged ties will proceed to the group stages from which proper qualification will commence on November 11, 2019 and end November 2020 with a total of 24 teams making it to the finals.

The top two teams from each group will advance.

Kenya’s neighbors Uganda meanwhile have landed in Group B alongside 2013 runners-up Burkina Faso, Malawi and the winner of the preliminary playoff match pitting South Sudan and the Seychelles.

The Full Draw:

Preliminary Qualifiers

Liberia vs Chad (Winner to enter Group A)

South Sudan vs Seychelles (Winner to enter Group B)

Mauritius vs Sao Tome et Principe (Wimmer to enter Group C)

Djibouti vs Gambia (Winner to enter Group D)


Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, (Liberia/Chad)

Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, (South Sudan/Seychelles)

Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, (Mauritius/Sao Tome)

Group D: DR Congo, Gabon, Angola, (Djibouti/Gambia)

Group E: Morocco, Central Africa Republic, Mauritania, Burundi

Group F: Cameroon, Cape Verde, Mozambique, Rwanda

Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros

Group H: Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana

Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea Bissau, Swaziland

Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea

Group K: Ivory Coast, Niger, Madagascar, Ethiopia

Group L: Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone, Lesotho


Leave a Reply