Koth Biro: Mieno Steers Opitos to Quarters

Terror Squad have been knocked out of this year’s Koth Biro tournament after losing 2-1 to a star studded Opitos FC. Tusker FC midfielder Humphrey Mieno and Carlson Mweresa scored in a space of two minutes to upset the Terrorists who had taken a 78th minute lead through a well taken goal by Antony Rupande. 

The closely contested match saw both sides waste many chances with Opito’s Jesse Were wasting four clear chances. Rupande on the other hand had a chance to give his team the lead midway through the first half but he fluffed his effort wide with the goal at his mercy. 


In Sunday’s action, A 1000 street knocked out Young Rovers 5-4 on post match penalties after a barren draw in regular time draw. Young Rovers Kennedy Otieno missed his shot in the post match penalties as the rest converted to hand the defending champions a ticket to the quarter finals.


A1000 – Sam Olwande, Joseph Majani, Roy Syamba, Kennedy Otieno, Eric Mata

Young Rovers – Jandi Kevin, Lennox Ogutu, David Odhiambo, Ayiaga Nicholas.. Kennedy Otieno (missed). 

In another match, Mamba FC also advanced to the quarter finals after beating Flats Tornadoes by a solitary goal. The goal was scored courtesy of Elias Otieno who converted a penalty in the 60 minute.

In the last match of the day, a resilient Umeme Bees were beaten by Puiretto in post match penalties after a one all draw during regulation time. Puiretto were the first on the score sheet through a screamer by Victor Ayugi in the 16 minute. The Bees were the better team throughout the match as they wowed the thousands of fans with their great individual and team work skills. Their persistence paid off as Puiretto crashed under pressure and the Bees talismanic midfielder Misiko Was brought down hard in the penalty area. Evans Mieno picked up the honors and scored an excellent penalty.

Unfortunately the Bees were smoked out in the post match penalties as Masika Solomon shot was saved by the keeper whilst Macharia Melvin shot sailed over the bar.


Scorers:Umeme Bees- Edwin Otieno, Mieno Evans.

Missed: Masika Solomon, Macharia Melvin..

Scorers: Piuretto – Juma Andrew, Masinde Kelvin, Tyson Odhiambo, Brian Chege.

Follow us on Twitter: @Four4TwoMedia 



Leave a Reply