KPL AllStars Team to Battle Hull Unveiled

The Kenyan Premier League (KPL) All Stars squad that will play English Premier League side Hull City next month, February 27, at the KCOM Stadium was unveiled on Saturday (28) afternoon with a couple of surprising inclusions.

A team of coaches from Hull City had been handed the responsibility to unveil an 18-man squad from a list of 47 KPL players and they obliged, coming up with a couple of surprises. 

Reigning KPL title winning goalkeeper David Okello of Tusker FC was chosen alongside golden glove winner Patrick Matasi in the goalkeeping department. Gor Mahia’s Harun Shakava and new AFC Leopards recruit Robinson Kamura, formerly of Mathare United, were chosen as part of the defence which also includes Wesley Onguso (Western Stima), Joshua Otieno, Osborne Monday (Tusker) and James Situma (Tusker) who will captain the side.

Leopards midfielder Harun Nyakha also made the cut alongside his long time associate, the soft-spoken and shy Christopher Oruchum who plies his trade at Thika United. Oruchum’s inclusion was a wee bit of a surprise but so were the likes of Moses ‘Dube’ Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Cliff Kasuti and Joshua Otieno (Sony Sugar).

Nairobi City Stars team manager Neville Pudo and Harambee Stars head coach Stanley Okumbi will both be in charge of the team while in the UK. The All Stars search was sponsored by Sportpesa.

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), David Okello (Tusker FC)

Defenders: Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Christopher Oruchum (Thika United), Wesley Onguso (Western Stima), Osborne Monday (Tusker FC), James Situma (Tusker FC), Cliff Kasuti (Ulinzi Stars)

Midfielders: Joshua Otieno (Sony Sugar), David Kingatua (Bandari), Harun Nyakha (AFC Leopards), Humphrey Mieno (Tusker FC), Moses Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Amos Nondi (Gor Mahia)

Strikers: Allan Wanga (Tusker FC), John Mark Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars), Geoffrey Kataka (Posta Rangers)

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply