Mwendwa Elected New FKF President

Kariobangi Sharks Chairman, Nick Mwendwa, is the new Football Kenya Federation (FKF) President after beating Ambrose Rachier by 50 votes to 27.

The youthful Mwendwa marshaled a strong campaign and was tipped to give incumbent, Sam Nyamweya, a run for his money but found himself competing against Rachier after Nyamweya pulled out at the last minute.

Mwendwa, whose campaign rallying cry was #TeamChange, established an early lead and was never caught up by Rachier, chairman of Kenyan Premier League champions, Gor Mahia.

Also read: Rachier Accepts Defeat, Says Voters Bribed

The process was made easy after four of the six candidates who were participating in the presidential elections withdrew. Those who didn’t go to the ballot included Nyamweya, Gor Semelang’o, Ssemi Aina and Sammy Sholei, all who withdrew for various reasons.


The counting of presidential votes was supposed to be the last agenda but was hurried as Sports Cabinet Secretary, Hassan Wario, had to leave for another function.

A total of 77 delegates participated in the elections including 16 from the Kenyan Premier League (relegated KCB and Nakuru All Stars inclusive) and six each from the FKF Premier League, the National Super League (NSL) and Division 1.

Also voting were one representative from the Referee Association, Coaches Association and Players Association.

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply