Nakumatt Edge Sony on Penalties to Reach GOtv Semis

FKF Premier League side Nakumatt FC  have qualified for the semifinals of the GOtv Shield tournament after beating Sony Sugar 3-1 on post match penalties.

The two teams had tied 1-1 in normal time. Nakumatt boss Giovanni Traoni, in realizing the match would go for penalties, hauled off keeper Wycliffe Kasaya for Azamu Adisa which proved to be an inspired move with the substitute keeper saving two spot-kicks.

Felix Juma, Donald Mosoti and Mustapha Mohamed scored for the FKF Premier League side while the visitors scored their only spot kick through Amos Nondi. Adisa kept out efforts from Marwa Chamberi and Kevin Omondi while Victor Ayugi saw his effort rattle the crossbar.

Ayugi curls one in

Sony Sugar went ahead in the 56th minute when midfielder Victor Ayugi curled in a freekick past a hapless Wycliffe Kasaya. Ayugi beat the poorly arranged wall, hiding the ball into the bottom left corner. The lead however barely lasted as the hosts drew level almost immediately. Experienced defender Sylvester Wanyama hacked down Cornelius Juma with the referee pointing to the spot. Captain Peter Nzuki drove it home past Sony keeper Kevin Omondi.

Sony got the first chance of the game in the 12th minute when experienced Marwa Chamberi beat Nicholas Mejja on the right flank but could only watch as his fierce effort hit the side netting.

Nakumatt, who missed promotion for next year’s Kenyan Premier League, slowly grew into the game and initiated most of their attacks from the left flank where Christopher Wekesa and John ‘Leftie’ Njoroge linked up well. The duo combined in the 25th minute, releasing the enterprising Nzuki but his effort was well gathered by Omondi who was making his debut in the Sony goal.

Giovanni Traoni’s charges looked more likely to score and it was Nzuki again who was unlucky as he watched his well taken freekick bounce on the Sony wall and the follow up effort whistle just wide off the upright.

Sony Sugar coach Salim Babu introduced former Gor Mahia midfielder Anjelo Akumu for the young Vincent Okumu and his first contribution was a foul on Edwin Wanjala.

In a bid to get hold of the game, the Millers introduced Collins Ojany for Clinton Omollo but this did not change the tide of the game. Nakumatt too had changes, perhaps sensing penalties; Felix Juma came in for John Njoroge while another former Kenyan international Kevin Opiyo was substituted for Cornelius Juma. Goalkeeper Wycliffe Kasaya was also substituted for Azama Adisa but neither of the teams could win the match in normal time

Sony penalties

Marwa Chamberi – saved

Kevin Omondi – saved

Nondi Amos – scored

Victor Ayugi – missed

Nakumatt penalties

Juma Felix – scored

Donald Mosoti – scored

Mustapha Mohamed – scored

Nakumatt Starting XI: 33 Wycliffe  Kasaya 2 Nicholas Mejja,  3 Christopher Wekesa, 14 Kennedy Onyango 15 Donald Mosoti, 6 Edwin Wanjala, 7 Tyronne Owino, 40 Mustaffa Mohammed, 13 Cornelius Juma, 10 Peter Nzuki (c) , 21 John Njoroge

Subs: 1 Azamu Adisa, 20 Kelvin Thairu, 19 Kevin Opiyo, 22 Jacob Onyango, 23 Juma Feis, 29 Kennedy Odinga, 24 George Obuya

Sony Sugar Starting XI: 35 Kevin Omondi, 28 Eugine Ochieng’, 3 Samuel Olare, 5 Sylvester Wanyama (Cpt), 26 Alfred Onyango, 16 Akoko Nicholas, 10 Clinton Omollo, 6 Victor Ayugi, 11 Vincent Ogutu, 19 Edwin Oduor, 7 Marwa Chamberi

Subs: 1 Timothy Odhiambo, 13 Hamidu Kwizera, 14 Anjelo Okumu, 23 Byron Odinga, 24 Collins Ojany, 29 Andrew Sekayombya, 30 Nondi Amos.

Follow us on Twitter: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply