Nondi, Meja among Harambee Stars Callups

A fair number of new faces have been called up to the Kenya national team ahead of the dead rubber 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Zambia set for September 3 which will be preceded by a build up match against Uganda on August 30.

The Harambee Stars head coach Stanley Okumbi and his technical bench unleashed a 40-man preliminary squad for the upcoming assignments with the players drawn from the topflight and second division as well as from foreign leagues.

Among the players who made the cut include emerging AFC Leopards star Jack Bruno, Gor Mahia midfielder and Kenya U20 captain Amos Nondi and Nakumatt FC fullback Nicholas Mejja, all who earn their maiden senior team call-up. 

Western Stima hitman Kenneth Muguna has also been rewarded for his scintillating form this season while 21-year-old Joshua Kipkemboi Lelan who turns up for Plymouth Argyle F.C and Jonah Ayunga, 19, of Brighton & Hove Albion have been extended an olive branch.

New York Cosmos’ David ‘Cheche’ Ochieng, AFC Leopards duo Bernard Mang’oli and John Ndirangu, Bandari’s Mohammed Sharif and Thika United sensation Eugene Mukhangula have all made the cut.

The league’s joint leading goalscorer Wycliffe Ochomo has been omitted with the attacking lineup seeing the addition of Ingwe’s Bruno and Sony Sugar’s Masoud Juma.

Goalkeepers: Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Ian Otieno (AFC Leopards), David Okello (Tusker)

Defenders: Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos), David Owino (Zesco United), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Eugene Asike (Tusker), Joseph Okumu (Chemelil Sugar), Nicholas Meja (Nakumatt), Eric Ouma, Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Yusuf Mohammed (Muhoroni Youth), Mohammed Shariff (Bandari), Joshua Kipkemboi Lelan (formerly with Northampton Town), Aboud Omar (Slavia Sofia)

Midfielders: Baron Oketch, Amos Nondi, Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Michael Mutinda, Eugene Mukangula (Thika United), Clifton Miheso (Golden Arrows), Peter Nzuki (Nakumatt), Bernard Mangoli, John Ndirangu (AFC Leopards), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham HotSpurs), Ali Abondo (Ajax Capetown), Mike Madoya (Zoo Kericho), , Victor Majid (Chemelil Sugar), Eric Johanna (Mathare United), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United), Ayub Timbe (Lierse), Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima), Ismael Gonzalez (Las Palmas)

Strikers: Michael Olunga (Djurgardens), Jesse Were (Zesco United), Mark Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars), Jack Bruno (AFC Leopards), Jonah Ayunga (Brighton and Hove Albion), Masoud Juma (Sony Sugar)

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply