Olunga Congratulates Were, Stunned by Unbeaten Record

Had this been any of the last seven seasons, Gor Mahia forward Michael Olunga could have easily won the golden boot in the Kenyan Premier League.

His 19-goal haul in the just ended 2015 season is only bettered by Boniface Ambani’s yet to be beaten record of 26 goals in 2006, Allan Wanga’s 21 the season after and Jesse Were’s 22 goals which saw the Tusker man win this season’s award.

41 goals

Olunga and Were have been the league’s finest hit men this season, scoring a whooping 41 goals between them which is more than what 13 of the 16 league teams have managed to score for themselves.

Were’s twin strikes against AFC Leopards in the season finale had him winning the topscorer’s award by half time which rendered Olunga’s second half goal against Muhoroni Youth inconsequential as far as the race for the top award was concerned.

However, despite finishing second best, the Gor Mahia man (destined to be the most sought-after transfer property), hailed his fellow Harambee Stars international.

It’s OK

“I would have loved to win it but it wasn’t a matter of life and death,” he told FourFourTwoMedia.com.

“I set myself a target of 16 goals this season but surpassed that target so I am really happy. We (Gor Mahia) finished the season unbeaten which is just amazing and I also got a league winners medal for the first time so I can’t complain.

He continued: “Were has been amazing this season, scoring three hat-tricks and he deserves it. It’s a good sign in the league to have strikers scoring that number of goals against some top defenders so all I can do is congratulate him for the award.

“For me though, I am totally delighted to have been part of a team that did so good, one that played together and won together.”

Kogalo trio

A total of three Gor Mahia players featured in the top five goalscorers list with Olunga second with 19, Meddie Kagere fourth on 13 goals and Victor Ali Abondo joint fifth with KCB’s Paul Mungai Kiongera and Nairobi City Stars’ Sanneh Ebrima on 11 goals.

See the 2015 Top Scorers List Here

KPL Topscorers Since 2006

2006 – Boniface Ambani (Tusker FC), 26 goals

2007 – Allan Wanga (Tusker FC), 21 goals

2008 – Francis Ouma (Mathare United), 15 goals

2009 – John Baraza (Sofapaka), Joseph Emeka (Tusker FC), 15 goals

2010 – John Baraza 15 goals

2011 – Steven Waruru (Ulinzi Stars), 11 goals

2012 – John Baraza (Sofapaka), 18 goals

2013 – Jacob Keli (KCB FC), 17 goals

2014 – Dan Sserunkuma (Gor Mahia), 16 goals

2015 – Jesse Were (Tusker FC), 22 goals

Follow us on Twitter: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply