Rama Recalled, Saruni Gets Nod for DRC

Harambee Stars head coach Stanley Okumbi has taken the first step towards preparing his side for the October 4 friendly match against DR Congo by naming a provisional 39-man squad for the Kinshasa battle.

The former Mathare United boss has thrown in some interesting names in his latest squad which is expected to report to camp on Monday, September 19 ahead of the away trip.

Former Gor Mahia attacker, Rama Salim, who turns out for Slovakian side MFK Topvar Topoľčany who are currently fourth in the third-tier Slovakia League, 3.liga west.

Other notable names from the foreign legion include Paul Were who recently penned a deal with Greek second division side Archanaikos. Johanna Omollo of Belgian outfit Royal Antwerp also makes a return and so does Brian Mandela of Maritzburg United who missed the Africa Cup of Nations qualifier away to Zambia which ended on a 1-1 stalemate.

Locally, Okumbi has called among others forward Cavin Odongo who he watched play for Posta Rangers against Thika United at the Ruaraka Ground last weekend. Ulinzi Stars keeper James Saruni has been impressive lately and also earns his spot in the goalkeeping department alongside established internationals Boniface Oluoch and David Okello.

Kakamega Homeboyz sit pretty in 8th position in the Kenyan Premier League log despite being promoted this season and their defender Charles Momanyi receives a call-up as well as veteran Sony Sugar midfielder Frederick ‘Uche’ Onyango, Mathare United centerhalf Robinson Kamura, Thika United midfielder Michael Mutinda and Gor Mahia defender Harun Shakava.

Also Read: Harambee Stars Drop 3 Places in Latest Fifa Rankings

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), David Okello (Tusker FC), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars)

Defenders: Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United), Aboud Omar (Slavia Sofia), David Owino (Zesco United), David Ochieng’ (New York Cosmos), Musa Mohammed, Eric Ouma, Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia), Bernard Ochieng’ (Vihiga United), Robinson Kamura (Mathare United), Collins Omondi, Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Charles Momanyi (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Midfielders: Danson Kago (Tusker FC), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs), Johanna Omollo (Royal Antwerp), Bernard Mang’oli (AFC Leopards), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United), Ayub Timbe (Lierse), Eric Johanna (Mathare United), Baron Oketch, Amos Nondi, Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Kenneth Muguna, Kennedy Otieno (Western Stima), Michael Mutinda (Thika United), Frederick Onyango (Sony Sugar), Paul Were (Archanaikos), Rama Salim (Topolcany), Ismail Gonzalez (Las Palmas), Victor Majid (Chemelil Sugar)

Strikers: Michael Olunga (IF Djurgardens), Jesse Were (Zesco United), Mark Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars), Jack Bruno (AFC Leopards), Masoud Juma (Sony Sugar), Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers)

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply