SOYA: Pocket Rocket Cheruiyot Crowned Best

Olympic 5000m champion, Vivian Cheruyiot, was named the Overall 2016 Sports Personality of the Year winner during the awards gala held at the Kenyatta International Convention Center (KICC) Thursday, January 19, evening.

Cheruiyot beat fellow athlete Eliud Kipchoge to the award with the duo also named the Female and Male sports persons of the year. The 33-year-old stunned pre-race favorite Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana to win the 5000m title in Rio de Janeiro in August, adding the only title that was missing to her great collection.

It was the second time she was named the nation’s best after doing so in 2011 following double victory in the World Championships in Daegu where she won both the 5000m and 10,000m titles.

Cheruiyot also beat 1500m Olympic champion Faith Chepngetich Kipyegon to the Sportswoman of the year gong with Rio Marathon gold winner Jemimah Sumgong finishing third.

Olympic and London Marathon champion, Eliud Kipchoge won the Male Sports Personality of the year ahead of 3000m steeplechase Olympic champions Conseslus Kipruto.

Also Read: Harambee Starlets, Kenya 7s Win SOYA Team Titles


2016 Sports Personality of the Year:

Vivian Cheruiyot (Athletics)

1. Eliud Kipchoge (Athletics, Marathon),
2. Conseslus Kipruto (Athletics, 3,000m steeplechase),
3. Collins Injera (Kenya Sevens rugby)/David Rudisha (Athletics, 800m)

Sportswoman of the Year:

1. Vivian Cheruiyot (Athletics, 10,000m, 5,000m)

2. Faith Chepng’etich (Athletics, 1,500m)

3. Jemimah Sumgong (Athletics, Marathon)

Sportsman Living with a Disability:

1.. Samuel Muchai (Athletics, T11- 1,500m, 5,000m)

2. Henry Kirwa (T13-1,500m, 5,000m)

Sportsman Living with a Disability:

1. Nancy Koech (Athletics)

2. Nelly Sile (Athletics)

3. Irene Cherono (Athletics)

Most Promising Boy:

1. Kipyegon Bett (Athletics)

2.Ryan Randiek (tennis)

3. Joseph Okumu (football)

Most Promising Girl:

1. Mwanahalima Adam (football)

2. Kelly Gachaga (Golf)

3. Sneha Kotecha (Tennis)

Team of the Year –Men:

1. Kenya Sevens (Rugby)

2. Tusker FC (Football)

3. Kenya Simbas (Rugby)

Team of the Year – Women:

1. Harambee Starlets

2. Telkom Orange (Hckey)

3. National Roll Ball Team

Sports Federation of the Year:

1. Tennis Kenya

2. Football Kenya Federation


School Team of the Year-Boys:

1. Kamusinga (Hockey)

2. Kakamega (Rugby)

3. Upperhill (Basketball)

School Team of the Year-Girls:

1.Kaya Tiwi (Basketball)

2. Sinyolo Girls( Hockey)

3. AI Kosirai (volleyball)

School Player of the Year Girls: Haddasah Gichovi (Athletics)

School Player of the Year Boys: Allan Singar

School Coach of the Year: Philip Onyango

Coach of the Year: Jos Openda (Telkom Orange)

Hall of Fame:

Jackson Omaido (Rugby)

Naftali Temu (Athletics)

Community Hero:

Felix Oloo

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply