Top 8: Kogalo Draw Ushuru, Ingwe vs Ulinzi

Reigning KPL Top 8 champions, Gor Mahia, will play debutants Ushuru FC in the 2016 edition of the tournament that kicks off on Sunday, May 1.

The two-time champions won last year’s title, beating Sony Sugar 2-1 in extra time.

They were held to a barren draw by Ushuru this past Sunday, April 10. Ken Kenyatta’s side finished 8th in the 2015 Kenyan Premier League season to earn their entrance into this year’s competition.

Tusker FC, another two-time winner, will be away to Bandari in the opening match on May 1 with the Dockers also making their maiden appearance in the competition.

Another cracking clash will see 2014 losing finalists AFC Leopards come up against inaugural champions Ulinzi Stars, while sugar belt side Muhoroni Youth will be away to league stragglers Sofapaka.

The quarterfinal stage will be played on a knock out basis with the semifinalists playing home and away with the winner of the one-off final pocketing Kshs. 1 million.

Full Draw

Bandari vs Tusker

AFC Leopards vs Ulinzi Stars

Gor Mahia vs Ushuru FC

Sofapaka vs Muhoroni Youth

Past Winners

2011: Ulinzi Stars – beat Western Stima 2-1

2012: Gor Mahia – beat Ulinzi Stars 2-0

2013: Tusker – beat Thika United 5-3 on penalties

2014: Tusker – beat AFC Leopards 2-1

2015: Gor Mahia – beat Sony Sugar 2-1 in extra time

Follow us on Twitter/Instagram: @Four4TwoMedia



Leave a Reply